United States Federal Bureau of Investigation Directors

Interested in learning who has led the Federal Bureau of Investigation throughout the years? Below is a list of all F.B.I. Directors from 1908 to present. As of May 9, 2017, deputy director Andrew G. McCabe became acting director of the F.B.I. A permanent leader for the bureau is still being determined by the Trump administration.

??????The J. Edgar Hoover FBI building in D.C.

Stanley Finch1908?1912
Alexander B. Bielaski1912?1919
William E. Allen1919 (Acting)
William J. Flynn1919?1921
William J. Burns1921?1924
J. Edgar Hoover1924?1972
L. Patrick Gray1972?1973 (Acting)
William D. Ruckelshaus1973 (Acting)
Clarence M. Kelley1973?1978
James B. Adams1978 (Acting)
William H. Webster1979?1987
John Otto1987 (Acting)
William S. Sessions1987?1993
Floyd I. Clarke1993 (Acting)
Louis Freeh1993?2001
Thomas J. Pickard2001 (Acting)
Robert S. Mueller2001?2013
James Comey2013?2017
Andrew G. McCabe2017- (Acting)

Associated Press Photo

Related content: Encyclopedia entry on the Federal Bureau of Investigation

Executive Departments and AgenciesU.S. GovernmentCentral Intelligence Agency Directors

Sources +